Program

Man-Society-Environment

University of Basel
Vesalgasse 1
CH-4051 Basel

Map

 

Office:

Ute-Simone Spitzer
Phone:   +41 61 207 04 00
Fax:      +41 61 207 04 09
ute-simone.spitzer-at-unibas.ch

The Man-Society-Environment Programme

encompasses various aspects of the sustainable management of resources. One facet includes projects on the protection and the sustainable use of water and aquatic ecosystems. Additionally, considerable research is being undertaken in the field of fish and other aquatic organisms. Another facet of the programme focuses on the topics of consumption and energy. Interdisciplinary as well as transdisciplinary approaches characterise our research and teaching.

The Man-Society-Environment programme heads the transfaculty “Sustainable Development” programme and is in charge of the natural sciences courses for the Master's degree in Sustainable Development at the University of Basel.

Microplastics

"Microplastics" - small plastic particles (< 5 mm) - can be found nowadays in almost all rivers, lakes and oceans. They are either an intermediate product of plastic manufacturing, are used as granulates in cleaning and personal care products, or they arise from the decomposition of larger plastic particles in the environment. We are examining the origin and spreading of microplastics in domestic rivers as well as studying the effects on local fauna.

...more information

 

 

The Goby Project

Invasive Ponto-Caspian gobies are spreading in the Rhine.

...more information

Discovering the cold

Discovering the cold: Are Antarctic fish capable of coping with anthropogenic chemicals?

The Antarctic Ocean is thermally isolated from the world’s other oceans by the Antarctic Polar Front, which has allowed the formation of a very stable ecosystem over several millions of years. Antarctic fish are highly adapted to this extremely cold environment of the Antarctic Ocean. It is known that chemical contamination of the Antarctic environment, in particular contamination by persistent organic pollutants (POPs) is increasing, and that Antarctic fish are accumulating xenobiotics in their tissues. It is unknown so far whether Antarctic fish are able to metabolize the xenobiotics or if the accumulation of these chemicals potentially induces toxic processes.  Gaining a deeper insight into this is of high scientific and societal relevance, especially under the circumstances of globalisation and climate change.

... more information

Towards a sustainable use of hydropower

Integrating an interdisciplinary approach, FoNEW and MGU investigate the water levels of artificial reservoirs used for hydropower.

 …more information

Inter- and transdisciplinary processes in research and teaching

To embark in collaboration across academic fields and sometimes beyond the academic system is quite often rewarding in dealing with complex questions. In our research we inquire how this collaboration can be facilitated and assessed, which challenges have to be faced and how the development of the necessary competencies can be supported. Most of our research projects devoted to the issues of sustainable consumption and education for sustainable development are themselves inter- or transdisciplinary and thus provide our own background of experience in inter- and transdisciplinary sustainability research.

Programm

Mensch-Gesellschaft-Umwelt

Universität Basel
Vesalgasse 1
CH-4051 Basel

Lageplan

 

Sekretariat:

Ute-Simone Spitzer
Tel.  ++41 61 267 04 00
Fax. ++41 61 267 04 09
ute-simone.spitzer-at-unibas.ch

Das Programm Mensch-Gesellschaft-Umwelt

beschäftigt sich mit verschiedenen Aspekten der nachhaltigen Bewirtschaftung von Ressourcen. Ein Bereich umfasst Projekte zu Schutz und nachhaltiger Nutzung von Wasser und aquatischen Ökosystemen. Insbesondere laufen zahlreiche Forschungsprojekte zu Fischen sowie zu weiteren wasserlebenden Organismen. Andere Studien fokussieren auf Konsum und Energie. Inter- und transdisziplinäre Fragestelllungen und Herangehensweisen prägen das Bild unserer Forschung und Lehre.

Das MGU leitet das transfakultäre Querschnittsprogrammm 'nachhaltige Entwicklung' und verantwortet die naturwissenschaftlichen Lehrveranstaltungen für den Master in Sustainable Development an der Universität Basel.

Mikroplastik

"Mikroplastik" – also kleine Plastikpartikel in der Umwelt (< 5 mm), finden sich heute in fast allen Flüssen, Seen und Meeren. Sie sind entweder ein Zwischenprodukt bei der Kunststoffherstellung oder werden als Granulat in Reinigungs- und Körperpflegeprodukten eingesetzt oder entstehen bei der Zersetzung von grösseren Plastikteilen in der Umwelt. Wir untersuchen die Herkunft und Verbreitung von Mikroplastik in den heimischen Flüssen und studieren die möglichen Auswirkungen auf Tiere unserer Gewässer.

...mehr Informationen

Das Grundelprojekt

Invasive Schwarzmeergrundeln verbreiten sich im Rhein

...mehr Informationen

Die Kälte entdecken – Sind antarktische Fische fähig, die Belastung durch Umweltchemikalien zu bewältigen?

Über Jahrmillionen hinweg galt der antarktische Ozean als ein von den anderen Weltmeeren durch die Polarfront isoliertes und daher sehr stabiles und unberührtes Ökosystem. Die dort heimischen Fischarten konnten sich somit über lange Zeit optimal an die dortigen, extrem kalten Umweltbedingungen anpassen. Es ist mittlerweile bekannt, dass anthropogene persistente organische Schadstoffe (POPs) antarktische Gewässer erreichen und sich in den Geweben der dort lebenden Tiere anreichern. Bisher wissen wir jedoch nicht, ob antarktische Fische solche organische Schadstoffe verstoffwechseln und abbauen können, und ob die Anreicherung dieser Stoffe toxische Prozesse auslöst. Dies ist besonders unter den Bedingungen der zunehmenden Globalisierung und des Klimawandels von hoher wissenschaftlicher und gesellschaftlicher Relevanz.

  …mehr Informationen

Hin zur nachhaltigen Nutzung von Wasserkraft

Mit einem interdisziplinären Ansatz erforschen das MGU und die FoNEW die Wasserstände von Stauseen

 …mehr Informationen

Inter- und transdisziplinäre Prozesse in Forschung und Lehre

Um komplexe Fragen zu beantworten, ist es oft fruchtbar und bereichernd, über die Fachgrenzen hinweg und manchmal auch über die Wissenschaftsgrenzen hinweg zusammenzuarbeiten. Wir gehen in unserer Forschung der Frage nach, wie sich diese Zusammenarbeit gestalten und evaluieren lässt, welche Herausforderungen sich dabei stellen und wie sich die notwendigen Kompetenzen fördern lassen. Die meisten unserer Projekte zu nachhaltigem Konsum und Bildung für Nachhaltige Entwicklung sind ebenfalls inter- oder transdisziplinär ausgerichtet und bilden damit auch unseren eigenen Erfahrungshintergrund in inter- und transdisziplinärer Nachhaltigkeitsforschung.

... mehr Informationen